Life with AIDS, revisited

So, nine months since my last post? No better time to try to start again than now, I suppose. I’m still trying to get to the end of my thesis project but I think there’s finally a light at the end of the tunnel (I know, I know. Longest tunnel ever.).

I was inspired to post today because of National HIV Testing Day and some of the stories that I’ve seen online relating to it. So many people are reaching out and encouraging others to get tested, know their status and live a healthy lifestyle. These accounts took me back to the HIV/AIDS Activism stories that I’ve been working on all these months and reminded me why I started this project in the first place.

I’ve published two stories of activism since I last posted:

Maria’s story is here.

And Dab’s is here.

Both Dab and Maria have been such supporters of my project and very inspirational to me along the way. I feel so privileged that they were both willing open up to me and share their stories. It’s amazing how many lives these two people touch! Even when faced with a task as difficult as living with HIV/AIDS, both Dab and Maria have devoted their entire lives to helping others in need–in need of testing, in need of care, in need of a friend.

I hope that you enjoy these two stories–two more are on the way!

Shannon



Leave a comment